State Inspection Service

/State Inspection Service

State Inspection Service

State Inspection:

The safety of motorists is a top priority in Texas. Hence, all registered vehicles in Texas are required to go through an annual inspection to meet compliance with all required safety standards. Emissions testing need to be done at the expense of safety inspections in 17 counties in Texas. In alphabetical order, they include; Brazoria, Fort Bend, Galveston, Harris, Montgomery, Collin, Dallas, Denton, Ellis, Johnson, Kaufman, Parker, Rockwall, Tarrant, Travis, Williamson and El Paso.

This is a requirement issued by the federally mandated clean air requirements. Vehicle inspections are carried out at Official Vehicle Inspection Stations that are licensed by DPS.

All the inspections are inclusive of comprehensive safety inspection, including emission tests in some vehicles. There are different classes of vehicles that can be inspected during the safety inspection ranging from buses, exempt vehicles, moped, motor-cycle and motor-driven cycle, passenger car, pickup, school bus, trucks, trailers, and tractors.

The items of inspection include; beam indicators, brakes, car lamps, clearance lamps, exhaust emission system, exhaust system, head lamps, horn, license plate lamp, mirror, reflectors, safety guards or flaps, seat belts, side market lamps, steering, stop lamp trail lamps, tires, turn signal lamps, vehicle identification number, wheel assembly, window tinting, and windshield wipers.

In connection to the annual safety inspection, all gasoline-powered vehicles ranging from 2 to 24 years old registered or operating in these counties will be subject to the above tests.